BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am seriously considering buying a 2003 530i. This is my first time buying a car and this is a considerable upgrade for me (I currently drive a '88 Toyota truck). I would appreciate it if current owners can answer a few questions:

Considering your experience with the car, would you still have chosen it?

Has the car required many repairs, how has the the overall reliability been?

I am familiar with the cooling and electrical problems, is there anything else I should be aware of?

Are there any common problems that are frequently hidden by a used dealer?

I think this is a great forum and I appreciate any other insights or advice.

·
Just a Gigolo
585 Posts
I wouldn't do it.

If you buy an E39 it will be the best performing sedan you've ever owned. You most likely will become a life long BMW driver. This is my first BMW and I don't think I can own a car from a different manufacturer now. About reliability and repairs...don't sweat the small stuff.

:bigpimp:

Edit: I just noticed you are in Pasadena...check out the off-topic forum. There is a huge bimmer meet being setup. You can come and check out a bunch of E39's.

·
Registered
97 Posts
roadwarrior687 said:
and I don't think I can own a car from a different manufacturer now.
That is exactly how I am now. I have driven Jaguars, Mercedes, Audi, etc. but by far BMW comes out in front in terms of performance/drive. If you do go through with it, have a little saved just in case repairs are needed.

·
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest!
132 Posts
You'll regret it... why you didn't buy this car earlier :rofl:

The E39 will bring you a lot of driving pleasure :thumbup:

·
E39 ****
118 Posts
You are making a fine, intelligent decision. Much driving pleasure in your future, and you have selected (arguably) the most trouble-free version of the E39 issued.

P.S. - Are you a Mitchell? I have a BMitchell brother, Bruce.

·