BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the BMW community and I love this forum. I have owned a 2011 550i GT for about a month. I love the car! I have learned a lot from browsing through the posts.

Is it common to see a coolant leak at the small hoses going into the turbos? This has been repaired, but would it have caused any potential damage?

I appreciate the group wisdom.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

·
There is no spoon
1,964 Posts
Antifreeze is mainly alcohol and water with some added corrosion inhibitors. I am guessing they use silicates for the fancy expensive coolant that is now recommended by Audi/BMW/MB. Based on the fact that this mixture is meant to go through the radiator and various hoses I wouldn't be concerned.

Here's a helpful wiki link about antifreeze in general:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antifreeze

·
There is no spoon
1,964 Posts
Ah, sorry I misunderstood. As per the N63 engine technical documentation there is system protection in the event of coolant or engine oil reaching excessive temperatures. Additionally there is an electrically operated cooling system to dissipate the hate after the engine is turned off. Unless there was catastrophic failure of the coolant system I wouldn't worry. By the way, what was the cause of the leak? Cracked hose?

·
Rogue2258
297 Posts
Buy a ten pack of BMW screw clamps.....they are extremely well made and easy to use. The repair actually calls for replacing three entire lines that have metal and rubber hose. The leaks form where the rubber meets the metal pipe. The clamps on the original equipment cannot be tightened. Just cut the old clamps off with snips, and install the new screw clamps. The plastic engine cover fits tightly over that area so you will need to adjust the screw clamps so they do not stick up too far preventing you from putting the plastic cover on. There will be more leaks..you will smell them;).

·
Rogue2258
297 Posts