BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Since I am a newbie to motors, it should come as no surprise to you that when I was left in the middle of a crossroad here in London with an accelerator (gas) pedal stuck, I had to wait and call RAC recovery. They noticed that it was not the pedal stuck, but the lever, under the boot, that is pulled by a wire pulled itself by the pedal. (I do not know its name). Anyway, the RAC unblocked by brute force the lever, and then sprayed something (I guess WD40) on it. I was able to start again.

Amazingly, this happened again. I say "amazingly because, once unblocked, this lever seems to work very smoothly, and it does not look dirty. Anyway, I sprayed it myself again and hammered, and I could start again.

Now, I have done a little research myself. The pedal gets stuck only after (but not always, thankfully) I have used the auto cruise control, and I disengage it by braking. I see that there are two cables connected to that lever, and I assume that the other one is connected to the auto cruise control.

Because I am afraid of being left again in the middle of the road, I am trying to disengage differently the auto cruise control, when I use it: always combining clutch and gas. In this way, I noticed, the problem does not happen.

I must also say that, although fortunately it only got stuck a couple of times, several times I found the pedal hard after using the auto cruise control and stopping it with the brake pedal.

Of course the way I found is not always comfortable or even safe to drive, so I would like to solve the problem really!