BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm picking up a 428i tomorrow morning. I've already signed something to hold the vehicle a week ago, and noticed the dealer fees seemed high:
Clerical: $222
Documental Transmittal: $147

is this a little high?

I've been leasing for many years and found this to be odd.
I typically lease from NY dealerships, this is in NJ.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
5,464 Posts
The "doc fee" is $75 in New York because it is regulated by law. In many states the "doc fee" is not regulated. It's not regulated in New Jersey.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
23,667 Posts
So the deaelr is screwing you out of $369.

Kinda late to catch it, no? If you have balls you line it out, threaten to walk if they balk- and walk. They employ people at the dealership to handle clerical tasks.... JMHO

·
Registered
357 Posts
Some dealers in new jersey charge as much as 599 for dealer fees. This being in NJ seems on the lower side actually. It's also important to look at the whole deal: sale price of the car and MF. Many dealers charge high doc fees but then will discount the sale price to make up for it.

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
Dealer Fees including Documentary Service Fees are regulated state-by-state. For some it's a fixed amount, others it's open ended. In Washington State it's a $150 doc service fee, but has to appear in most all advertising and all contracts as a negotiable fee.

I'm don't know the rules in all states. That's a buyer-beware (and buyer research) on the rule in your state.

Now this is just a pure assumption, by my guess is that if the fee is bigger than $100, it's probably negotiable.

~M~

·
Premium Member
5,464 Posts
Now this is just a pure assumption, by my guess is that if the fee is bigger than $100, it's probably negotiable.