BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shopping for 2011 E90 328i for about a week now.

All the dealers in my vicinity say 328is are selling like pancakes and they cannot go below invoice (before incentives of $2500) and in addition they charge 0.0004 markup on the MF. :mad:

Is this normal at this time of season when F30 will be out in 3 months? :dunno:

·
Registered
297 Posts
Yeah, sounds like bs to me. Try a forum sponsor or a non-local dealership. I tend to have a similar problem with the local guy, they are too used to people just walking in and paying whatever it takes, so my last 2 cars were from out of town. One 60mi away, one across the country :) Makes for a great road-trip!

On the other hand the local service department is top-notch and I let them know that!

·
Bimmerfest Founder
15,590 Posts
I've been shopping for 2011 E90 328i for about a week now.

All the dealers in my vicinity say 328is are selling like pancakes and they cannot go below invoice (before incentives of $2500) and in addition they charge 0.0004 markup on the MF. :mad:

Is this normal at this time of season when F30 will be out in 3 months? :dunno:
Where are you located? Honestly, if you are buying a car for invoice, what is so wrong with at least the F&I Manager earning a paycheck?

This is a serious question. Consider for a moment the fiscal health of a BMW dealership. How long do you suppose they can afford to operate (keep the doors open)
without making a real profit? This is a real concern that I don't think people consider, and would be an interesting discussion point. That's not to say that I think
Bimmerfest members shouldn't get kick-a$$ deals on their cars.

·
Launch Control Ready
1,577 Posts
It is a business - sometimes you lose money. Supply and demand...if there is a ton of supply out there...well...

Show me one business that ALWAYS makes a profit off EVERYTHING they sell...

·
Registered
1,074 Posts