BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all,

I'd like to start off by saying I am new to the forums because I'm new to BMW. I love my car and it had very few issues at the time of purchase. This one was caused by a dumb decision by myself capped off by a detailer who messed up (going to be talking to him next week in person)

Everything had been FINE mechanically and cockpit-wise as far as lights go. After I got the engine bay washed, I started the car, seemed fine...shortly after, I got the ASC and ABS lights and my tranny (auto) started to behave oddly and eventually went into "limp" mode with the EML and tranny lights intermittently coming off and on coupled with the oil temp gauge shooting up to the max (which seems to have inspired the former). Pulled over, popped the hood, figured it might need some time to dry out. The engine seemed very...shiny. Almost like there was tire shine or some sort of cleaner that wasn't fully cleaned off still left on it. Or it could have just been a side-effect of whatever he used.

Dried some areas by wiping, got back in, same issues persisted as above.

Pulled over again, jumped online and searched. Quickly came across multiple threads that are available here (have read through many of them extensively, I promise), which somewhat saved me because I figured out I could simply unplug the module and drive that way until I figure it out (THANK YOU!) -- water came dripping out of the connector when I did this. The water was a browny colour - could simply be dirt mixed in, but there was definitely water inside the connector.

After I let the connector "dry out" with it disconnected for a couple days, I reconnected it (today) and there was absolutely NO noticeable difference than when I had it unplugged immediately before. Drove 300 km and still, no change.