BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Omni Extaris
6,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just bought a 330i with sports pkg. One of the rears was fixed with a nasty plug which caused a bulge in the sidewall.

I quickly removed the wheel and put the spare on which is a '45 profile (meant for the front).

I need to replace the tire and move the spare back where it belongs...

The car has 23k miles. Came from MASS.

I am in SF, CA.

The tires are stock Continental Conti Sports. They look like they have some decent tread left.

1. Do I JUST replace the one bad tire?

2. Do I replace BOTH rear tires, reasoning that I will always have a mismatched pair of rears?

3. Is it unsafe or bad from a peformance issue to have a new rear mixed with a 23K miles old tire on the other side?

4. Are Continental Conti Sports crummy OEM tires and I should run for the hills and get a different brand.

I am a newb with this stuff. :(

Impart wisdom.

·
lurking
18,069 Posts
23K miles on summers... almost time for new ones anyways. i would replace both if it was for me. i think some manufacterurs use different compound near the end treadwear mark.

·
Omni Extaris
6,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
HW said:
23K miles on summers... almost time for new ones anyways. i would replace both if it was for me. i think some manufacterurs use different compound near the end treadwear mark.
I was thinking the same.

What's the life expectancy (mileage) on them. They look clean. Since the car is an east coast vehicle - I wonder if the original owner swapped to winter tires for part of the year.

So.. go for the OEM stuff or swap to something else for the rear...and then I have to ask - would I then have to go new all around (fronts too)?

·
TMS
9,288 Posts
paulg said:
What's the life expectancy (mileage) on them.