BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Bayerische Motoren Werke
1,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Read through the archives, checked out the bmwusa technology section and read the manual to get some info on dsc but had a few questions for the experts out there.

1. Why does asc have a section in my 2002 330ci manual if the 2002's have dsc and not asc any longer?

2. Any harm by switching dsc/dtc on/off a lot while driving?

3. Any real danger by having dsc/dtc off all the time? When the weather is bad or im gonna really push the car around the twisties I turn it back on. I mean I'm no professional driver and dont want to wreck, lol.

It's probably all psychological but I really notice a performance increase with the dsc/dtc off. Seems to respond to throttle changes faster, is this all in my mind? or is this difference minimal.

·
2001 M3:Stick, what else?
3,300 Posts
02330ci said:
1. Why does asc have a section in my 2002 330ci manual if the 2002's have dsc and not asc any longer?
Think global, man! Here in Canada, ASC+T is standard on E46's... DSC is a cost option. I'm sure it's like that in other parts of the world.

G

·
Your item #3 scares me.

If you don't know when you should turn it off, LEAVE IT ON. PERIOD.

Most people I know that turn it off do so only at the track or when autocrossing. This is to allow the vehicle to behave naturally. But these are also not public roads either.

If you turn DSC/ASC+T off on public roads when you do not (and cannot) know the road conditions or hazards ahead of you, you are a true idiot.

LEAVE IT ON.

·
10,856 Posts
The basic key is that DSC will keep you from spinning out. It converts oversteer into understeer and basically just makes the car easier to drive.