BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to bimmerfest and absolutely love it. It is most informative. After finding all the info i could on transmission oil change, I changed oil and filter in my newly aquired 530i. The instructions were to fill thru filler plug in pan, let run while shifting thru gears and get temp of oil to approx 85 degrees. I COULD NOT GET THE PLUG OUT EVEN WITH AN IMPACT WRENCH. In the instructions it did not say if it was left or right threads. Had me in a tail spin. I made a tool to fit using a bolt with a 17mm head to fit into the plug. Broke three of them.Finally took pan off and put on bench. HEATED the plug from inside pan and unscrewed out. RIGHT HAND THREADS. The moral to this story, MAKE SURE U CAN REMOVE THE PLUG BEFORE YOU PUT THE PAN BACK ON AFTER A TRANSMISSON OIL AND FILTER CHANGE. The transmission is in a 1994 530i M60. The product number is A5S 310Z. GOOD LUCK. Hope this helps someone.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I am new to bimmerfest and absolutely love it. It is most informative. After finding all the info i could on transmission oil change, I changed oil and filter in my newly aquired 530i. The instructions were to fill thru filler plug in pan, let run while shifting thru gears and get temp of oil to approx 85 degrees. I COULD NOT GET THE PLUG OUT EVEN WITH AN IMPACT WRENCH. In the instructions it did not say if it was left or right threads. Had me in a tail spin. I made a tool to fit using a bolt with a 17mm head to fit into the plug. Broke three of them.Finally took pan off and put on bench. HEATED the plug from inside pan and unscrewed out. RIGHT HAND THREADS. The moral to this story, MAKE SURE U CAN REMOVE THE PLUG BEFORE YOU PUT THE PAN BACK ON AFTER A TRANSMISSON OIL AND FILTER CHANGE. The transmission is in a 1994 530i M60. The product number is A5S 310Z. GOOD LUCK. Hope this helps someone.