Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey whats up guys im new to the bmw community this is my first car a 1995 bmw 325i i bought of an old man across the street with 114k miles car was bought buy the guy and put 7k$ worth of work into it he never drove it on the rode his wife wouldnt let him it was never even insure or registered by him its been sitting in his garage for 8 years and it runs but its pretty rough running at the moment he replaced radiator and hose has reciepts what should i have done to this car before i put it on the road?

·
Jesse Moon Bayne
8,245 Posts
Fuel system flush for sure. The injectors will most likely need replaced or atleast properly cleaned. Change the oil also. Inspect everything for leaks b/c the gaskets could be dried up from setting.

·
Old Soul
2,946 Posts
First order of business is to write a post with punctuation. My eyes glazed over after the first 10 words.

·
StrangeBMW
30 Posts
True that Shigeta!

Miguel, I would drain/flush the coolant system in addition to B1MM3R's post above. Better look at the tires for sure. They are probably hard and cracked from sitting.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
brand new tires installled by the guy 0 miles on them. they are not cracked or anything like that im mainly worried about the engine

·
John Firestone
2,913 Posts
brand new tires installled by the guy 0 miles on them.
I would replace them. Tires deteriorate even if you don't use them. Ten years is the limit, here, yours are approaching twenty!

If you had a blowout, here, and totalled the car, the insurance could and probably would pay you nothing.

·
John Firestone
2,913 Posts
Oh, I misread that. I shall try my best to wrap my mind around brand new, four year old tires.

It is a shame your neighbor didn't get a chance to drive his car.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #10