BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, newbie here.

I’m having a problem with the climate control on my 540. While driving with the temperature setting set for cold air (between 60 and mid 70’s), and the snowflake button activated, sometimes the air goes warm; not as warm as if the heat were on, but as though the A/C were not on, and ambient air were blowing in through the vents, warm Texas air. This phenomenon occurs in a variety of conditions: while idling in park, while driving around town… the only time it doesn’t seem to happen is when I am at highway speed. In fact, when I get off the highway and begin driving through town, the air goes warm within a minute, nearly every time.

I have tried various things to force the air cold again: manipulate all of the system controls (one at a time), turn the climate control system off and then on again, cycle the compressor (snowflake button)… Sometimes these attempts seem to force the air cold again, but not with any consistency; sometimes the air returns to cold on its own, without any input from me. The one input that has worked with some regularity is raising the RPMs, whether by holding down the accelerator while parked, or shifting into a lower gear (automatic). This seems to be a clue…

A few weeks ago I removed the Aux fan, which seems to be operating properly from what I have read, i.e. it comes on when a few moments after the compressor comes on. I removed the debris from behind the fan and around the radiator. I measured the fan voltage with the compressor on (when the fan should be on) and with the compressor off (fan should be off). There are three wires going to the fan: one is ground, one is power, and one seems to be control:

With the compressor off: power wire measured 13.8 vdc, control 3.3 vdc
With the compressor on: power wire measured 13.8 vdc, control oscillated between 2.4 and 2.6 vdc (PWM control?)