BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to the BMW world as I had traded my mustang cobra in for an e39. I absolutely love the car, best decision I ever made. However I am reading on the forums that the cooling system is a known problem. My car has 71k on it right now, I believe the major weakness is the water pump which has a plastic impeller instead of a metal one. My question for you is should I just change the water pump or do I really need to change the entire cooling system. That seems a bit extreme, and hard to believe since BMW makes such a high quality product. Thank you for your advice.

·
Registered
15,237 Posts
Actually it is not extreme at all.

An analogy is your garage door at home. Let's say it is 20 years old. And remember each part has its own lifespan. You replace the motor; 3 months later the chain breaks, 2 months later the spring breaks, 1 week later then the cable snapped, then the door rail fails. Then the bearings go. Then the door breaks. So it is better to change the whole thing than bits and pieces!!! Cheaper and more efficient this way. But if your budget is tight, you need to be mechanically inclined to handle it.

-----------
You should think about the cooling system as a "soccer team" with many players: missing one player, you are in trouble!!!

The problem is: some parts in the cooling system give you warning and some are "time-bombs". The plastic crack is classic, plastic becomes brittle with time and heat and the underhood environment is "perfect" for that.

SOME WARNING vs NO WARNING LIST

- WP leaking slowly or seized suddenly, taking the belts and fan blades with it....see recent post by "matt24"

- fan clutch usually failing slowly...so you may elect to wait a bit.
- fan blades can crack and fly off suddenly taking the underside of the hood with it.

- reservoir can crack slowly or suddenly
- Hoses can leak slowly or can blow suddenly