BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

good day everyone, newbie here. Can someone show me or tell me the steps or tools needed to replace e39 wagon rotor & brake pads. I thought they were the same as sedans but I I think it's different. I was in the process of doing it. When I was trying to remove the 2nd caliper (the one in the lower)carrier guide bolts I realized my ratchet won't fit. There's less space. Even if I tried to use a 1/4 drive with extension still won't fit. Any info/insights will be helpful thanks

·
Registered
406 Posts
if you search you tube, there is a video showing how to do it. It's fairly straight forward and easy. You'll need a 3/8 ratchet, torx bit for the caliber bolts, and I think a 15mm socket to remove the caliber guide. use some pb blaster or equivlaent to remove the
6mm rotor retaining bolts. give them a few tips with a mallet and chisel to knock them loose. i also suggest using some anti seize on the caliber bolts and the rotor retaining bolt. oh, and DO NOT ENGAGE THE PARKING BRAKE WHEN DOING THE REAR ROTORS!!!
you wont be able to get them off, and if you smash them off, you will destroy the parking brake drum. Remove the driver's side cabin filter housing and open up the cap on the brake fluid reservoir, if you dont purge some of the fluid, you'll end up pushing
brake fluid out of the reservoir into the wheel well of your car. Good luck.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Your right. I've watched numerous vids on e39 brake DIY. It is really straight forward. It was just the rears I had a problem because the suspension set up in the rear is quite different compare to sedans. I was thinking of using Allen wrench instead ratchet with Torx heads, if I do that my concern is the Torx tightness. How will I Torx it according to specs if even a ratchet won't fit. What you think?

·
Journeyman Somnambulist
54 Posts