BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I need help, please. I've searched the forum, and found some articles, but I'd like some real-world advice.

I'm just starting out trying to code my cars. I bought my cable, installed the software, and tried to connect to my car, just to receive the error "No ZGW Available". Every forum I've seen says "check your cable." After close inspection, I think my cable is wired wrong. I can make a patch cable to reverse the wiring error, but I'm having difficulty finding the right connection schematic. I know wire color has nothing to do with it since only the pin-to-pin connection matters.

The PDF available on this forum describes the cable connections as:
OBD -> RJ45
3 -> 1
11 -> 2
12 -> 3
13 -> 6
4 and 5 closed
resistor between 8-16
[This diagram doesn't make sense since it appears you're wiring Rx+ on the OBD to the Tx+ on the RJ45, the Rx- to the Tx-, the Tx+ to the Rx+ and the Tx- to the Rx-]

I've also seen another diagram:
3 -> 3
11 -> 6
12 -> 1
13 -> 2
[This makes better sense as you're connecting Rx+ to Rx+, Tx+ to Tx+, etc.]

My cable is slightly off from the above: (RJ45 1 and 2 appear reversed)
3 -> 3
11 -> 6
12 -> 2
13 -> 1

Can anyone who has successfully built a working ENET cable let me know what pinout pattern you used?

Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, that's the one that I'm referring to from finding on this forum.

The cable that I have is SO differently wired, that I was trying to figure out what pattern was used. In searching, I found a different diagram that more closely looked like what I got.