BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The following thread was posted

Subject: ENTIRE COOLING SYSTEM REPLACEMENT Tips and Tricks (Very Long, Enjoy!)
Author: cn as CNN-090 : member since July, 2004 : 916 posts
Posted on: 2006-05-14 04:27:25

I want to attempt this process with my BMW but I am reluctant to dive in. I tried to specifically ask the author but I am new to Bimmerfest and don't have the navigation down quite yet.

I have some questions about the process and I will ask them in order as the steps go. Keep in mind that I am only replacing the belts, water pump, fan clutch and the idler roller by the alternator. I am considering the thermostat but not sure yet. The reason I am changing the water pump is just because. Everything seems to be working fine except there is a slight rattling sound coming from the clutch area. Oh and one other thing, I have a 525 not a 528.

1. Where do I drain the antifreeze at? Is there a specific place to do so?

2. How do I move the circlips without breaking them, do I pry them out with a flathead or use a phillips and unscrew them?

3. The fan shroud, I inspected it and don't really see what is holding it on, is it these circle clips?

4. Should I not remove the radiator since I am not replacing it?

5. The garden hose flush is done with the car off right? I am assuming so and setting the dial on hot allows the water to flow through the heater coil. If this step is performed do I need to worry about any excess water that did not make it out or no need.

6. Why doesn't the thermostat come with a hole there, What happens if I don't drill the hole? Might not change though.

7. Did you use any RTV or adhesive along with the gaskets for the WP when reinstalled? I have done this before but again now I am working on my BMW so I don't want to do anything stupid.