BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Explanation of Fuse Assignment Symbols?

61017 14
I'm a technical editor at Mitchell1. My current project is creating BMW fuse assignment articles. Where BMW used to supply American-sold cars with fuse descriptions in english, it has begun to only supply the assignment cards that use those difficult-to-decipher symbols. Near as I can tell, there does not exist anywhere in the universe an official explanation (legend) for their meaning.

So, my question is...is there anything that explains those fuse symbols? Or am I right that there really is no such document?

I realize that since I'm not actually a BMW owner I may not be entitled to such secret information. I will understand.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Can you post an example of what you're talking about?

Thanks,
Tim
The symbols I'm talking about are the ones used for the fuse assignment cards that are installed in the covers of the fuse box.

For example, here's the trunk fuses card for a 2008 535xi E61:

What I've been able to do so far is look in owner's manuals and find symbols displayed next to certain function descriptions. But that's still not giving me all the definitions.

What I need is an official BMW legend. I suspect that there is no such thing.
Interesting, didn't know they changed to that but it makes sense in a way.

I'm surprised there isn't a legend in the owners manual either. Perhaps a dealership would have something for the technicians?

Tim
I'm very surprised BMW doesn't have something available to its customers or technicians.

You have to understand, I have access to everything the BMW techs use. All the online repair info, their parts catalog (where I've ordered nearly 100 assignment cards already)...literally everything BMW provides. I haven't found any single source of explanations for the symbols. It seems very strange.