Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been driving E38s for 10+ years and now I have an E39. Here are some initial thoughts comparing them.

The E38 still has a commanding presence. BUT, my E39 Wagon looks cool, too. The E38 says Old Money to me and the E39 Wagon has a Funky Presence.

In terms of driving, I was surprised how thick the steering wheel is on the Wagon. It also feels MUCH less assisted. In other words, it takes more effort. I like it. The E38 power steering boost is almost like a big American car.

The E38 has more room (obviously), but I don't feel cramped in the E39. The back seat is where the size is DEFINITELY noticeable.

The E38 is QUIET! The doors on the E39 do not have the satisfying vault like thunk of the E38.

While the E38 has that locomotive rush of power when accelerating hard, the E39 seems pretty peppy, too. It is a different feeling.

The E39 hugs the curves a little better, but the E38 REALLY pulls out of the curves with speed.

The fit and finish are both very nice, but the E38 feels more luxurious.

I can reach back at a stop light and get something from the backseat in the E39!

I like the HVAC controls on the E38 better.

I haven't taken the E39 on a long trip. But, I went about 25 miles on the highway this morning. The E38 feels like I could cruise at 90 mph for hours. But, the E39 feels like it would be more fun to drive. So, if I want to drive for fun and sort of thrash around then its the E39, but if I want to eat up 500 miles, the E38 is the car!

Things that are very similar: I have the ABS Trifecta on the E39. I have had that three times on my various E38. So, that seems pretty familiar. I asked my wife what she thought. She said she couldn't really tell much difference. She said the E39 feels like a BMW.

·
Registered
451 Posts