Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Now with 119k miles on it. I paid $17.6k for it new, and I got almost half that back in mileage reimbursements for 20k miles of business travel.

I have a GM MasterCard and I'm grandfathered into the old rebate rules. I can get up to $4k back on a new GM vehicle, after my best deal with a dealership. This is my second GM beater bought new. I'm going to get a Chevy Sonic in about 15k more miles, after I wear out the Conti DW's on Kobe.

This is a naturally-aspirated "SS," having the aluminum-block, variable-valve-timing 2.4 liter engine. This package was renamed "LT" when the turbocharged SS came out.

Good things about the car:

The engine does not leak oil.

The engine uses about 750ml of synthetic oil in between 8k mile oil changes.

The on-board computer's MPG reading, since new, is just 0.28% higher than the gas pump MPG since new.

The headliner has outlasted the one in my E46 M3 and Frau Putzer's Honda Accord.

It's easier to smoothly and gently pull away from a stop than it is with my 6-speed F10 535i.

Nothing under the hood has broken.

I've got 28.3 MPG since new. My record on a tank of gas was 35 MPG, but that was gaming it.

Oh, my former co-worker, the former stripper turned mathematician, liked the car. She liked my M3 better, though.

There are a lot bad things about the car. But, hey, it's Kobe's birthday!

Attachments

·
Registered
218 Posts
Those were actually ok cars. They’re not Toyota level quality but at the same time they’re not junk. They can last a long time if you maintain it. Whenever someone is on a limited budget I recommend them these cars as you can get low mileage ones for dirt cheap. A Corolla in the same price bracket would have twice the mileage.

Sent from my iPhone using Bimmerfest

·
Registered
10,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)