BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm connecting a parrot kit to my e92 (2009), I have all the required cable etc including a ignition sensor. What I need to do is splice into the 12v cable on the cig lighter as it controlled by the ignition and wire this up to the ignition sensor. I've never done this before, pretty new to BM's too. Can anyone tell me the best way to do this, what I'll need, where to run the wires, how to splice the wire etc. I want to be able to use the cig lighter still - is this even possible or will this cut power to it?

Any help would be great!

Cheers,

·
Registered
8,080 Posts
Personally, I would use a fuse tap and grab power from a switched source on the fuse panel. You can use the home link slot or the cigg lighter slot.

Or you can grab power by using a quick tap on the cigg lighter wires under the passenger side kick panel. I don't believe a 2009 has the ash tray cigg lighter.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Personally, I would use a fuse tap and grab power from a switched source on the fuse panel. You can use the home link slot or the cigg lighter slot.

Or you can grab power by using a quick tap on the cigg lighter wires under the passenger side kick panel. I don't believe a 2009 has the ash tray cigg lighter.
A fuse tap actually looks like a really good idea. How would I find the right place to plug into? Is there a fuse box behind the glove compartment and if so, which one do I use?

Also, what's the quick tap, i googled but can find any info. There is a cigg lighter in the ash tray btw.

·
Registered
8,080 Posts
Yes behind the glovebox. There should be a fuse diagram in the door that covers access to the fuse panel. If it's not there, you should be able to Google a picture of it.

Quick tap is this. It just crimps both wires together.

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·