BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Hi,Newbie here any help?

725 Views 6 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  edjack
hello gents;
i am in the process of buying a 99 model 528,i owned for 6 years an e36 320,and now i am in the process to return as a bmw rider :thumbup: i just want to ask about the engine and transmission of the e39,this one has the twin vanos as all of you know,and the tiptronic transmission,is this engine block manufactered also from nikasil or is it different?and the transmission is it mostly problematic or reliable like the 96 e36 transmission?
thank you for your help.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
It's a totally new generation from the E36. The E34 and E36 were contemporaries, technologically.

The autobox is a bit of a toss-up; it could be good or not. The fluid is supposedly a lifetime fluid. As a result most are not in the best possible shape.

No nikasil.
That MY would have the M52 engine. In worldwide markets, BMW used Nikasil cylinder liners. In the USA, they used cast iron liners due to the high sulfur content of our gas. If your gas is low sulfur, you should have no problems. WRT the tranny, it depends on who you ask. While many trannys last forever, a percentage crap out prematurely. It has nothing to do with maintenance as none is required, per BMW. It just seems to be the luck of the draw. As Dirty Harry said, "Are you feeling lucky?"