Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to X5 detailing, but not detailing in general. Until I got the right wheel brush and technique, I spent more time cleaning my X5 wheels than it took me to clean my previous car!

A friend told me he bought one of those $80 high pressure cleaners to clean his wheels. But, I'm a little apprehensive about using a high pressure cleaner on a continual basis. Any thoughts from the micro fiber crowd? :dunno:

·
Registered
45 Posts
Wheel cleaner

Try "P21S" (do a google on it)

Its excellent; spray on, brush with soft wheel brush and hose off. All 4 wheels clean in 10 mins.

phastphil said:
I'm new to X5 detailing, but not detailing in general. Until I got the right wheel brush and technique, I spent more time cleaning my X5 wheels than it took me to clean my previous car!

A friend told me he bought one of those $80 high pressure cleaners to clean his wheels. But, I'm a little apprehensive about using a high pressure cleaner on a continual basis. Any thoughts from the micro fiber crowd? :dunno:

·
Registered
100 Posts
Call me dumb (not too loudly) but I use the BMW cleaner and their special brushes. Most aftermarket cleaners I tried weren't as good IMHO.

A quick spray/soak with the cleaner, a few minutes of elbow grease and they come up like new when rinsed.

I found that giving the pad assembly itself a real good squirt with the hose washed out a lot of built up dust and it took longer to build up on the wheels again.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
First - I think I put this thread in the wrong place...should have been in the detailing forum, but since we are all here now....I'll just continue.