BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
mostly lurker...
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It was in one of those conveyor things where it pulls your car along in one side, whole thing took about 1.5 min, and car went thru it in P with enginer running. Car drives fine afterwards, no noise no light no nothing. Am I royally screwed?? Tranny? Differential? :cry:
Don't laugh but this is my first time thru an automatic car wash, I'd always hand wash it before.....

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
only time will tell... j/k..

next time make sure to engage the hand brake and put the car in neutral

·
Keeping it surreal
43,351 Posts
only time will tell... j/k..

next time make sure to engage the hand brake and put the car in neutral
Engage the handbrake ?????

·
mostly lurker...
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So the point is to let your drivewheel roll while the car is being dragded along? So back to my question, how much damage has been done to the tranny or differential?

·
Keeping it surreal
43,351 Posts
So the point is to let your drivewheel roll while the car is being dragded along?
No effen way....you just want it to roll freely in neutral

So back to my question, how much damage has been done to the tranny or differential?
There`s no way to know that, but given that you`re on a low-friction surface (i.e., a wet floor), probably not much to worry about

·
Registered
591 Posts
correct.. why?
Dude, are you kidding around? Why in the world would you engage the hand brake when the purpose is to let the car roll smoothly through the wash?

Oh, and be careful of those touchless car washes. To get your car clean without any contact they have to use some seriously heavy duty chemicals. Took me some time to figure this out, but those chemicals are pretty harsh on your paint and all the rubber on your car.

·
Registered
1,520 Posts