BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Humming noise: is it normal?

20635 11
Its my first time to own a bimmer. I don't know how it sounds when moving. However, I noticed that at low speeds, there is a humming sound that seems to come from the wheels. As it picks up speed the humming disappears, My mechanic convinced me the bearings on the rear wheels required replacement. I purchased new ones at high cost and replaced them. But I have not noticed any change in the humming! Was I ripped off? My mechanic may tell to replace the front bearings as well without any success and a big hole in my pocket. I have not driven any other bimmer so I have no idea how good bearings work! Any help will help.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Sounds like bad wheel bearings or your tires are just worn. I'd go with the cheaper route first and maybe try some new tires.
Thanks MalibuMafiaV. Appreciated. Perhaps I should start with replacing the tires first. I was told by the wheel balancing guy that they were uneven. If the humming doesn't disappear then I may have to replace the front wheel bearings as well. Could the quality of the bearings also be a problem? BMW parts are hard to come by in our area!
First off...repalce your mechanic! Humming from the front caused y bad rear bearings??!!!

My first guess is tires. I have my winters on now and because of the tread, I notice lots of noise at low speeds. ALways go with the simplest solution first (ask me how I know). Try swapping around wheels and/or changing tires first. bad balancing shouldn't cause noise but tread wear could.

You should be able to test the bearings before committing to replace. With the car raised, place a hand at 12:00 and one at 6:00 and push/pull the tire. IF there is movement, your bearings are bad.