BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just bought a 2001 325i BMW, the gentlemen that I had bought it from had just changed the oil.. It has been a week sense I bought it. It has been making a clicking sound, from what i hear its the shutters clicking.
How do I actually know? I dont want to take it to the dealer ship cause they are gonna charge me a ARM< LEG AND SOME BUTT!!!
I'm very nervous cause i have been smelling oil when I drive it. Please someone help me??

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
okay, Im very new to the BMW world, so can you educated me what a PPI is :-( He had shown me a paper with an inspection and it had passed but when he took it for an oil change thats when it started the clicking sound... I just need to know what I need to do without going to a dealership. Please I need some positive feedback

·
Cogito Ergo Zoom
3,579 Posts
PPI= pre purchase inspection. Pretty much the only thing most of us recommend a dealer for. Too late for that now. What you need is a post purchase inspection.

Find a good, local independent mechanic and pay him to inspect your car and list everything he thinks should be done. Basically, a PPI done after purchase. List everything he finds here so people can help you prioritize maintenance items.

Do you have maintenance records from the previous owner? That would give an idea as to the general state of things and what you may expect needs to be done in the near future.

In the mean time, find the WIKI linked at the top of the page. Read it, learn it, live it. Many of your questions will be answered there.

Welcome to BMW ownership. Hope you brought your checkbook with you...

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·