BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm about to go buy a used 525 or 528 in the years of 1999-2000. It will definitely have upwards of 90,000 k on it already and I really don't know much technically about E39's. As far as durability and less headache, my question is whether I should get the 525 or 528, or even go for the 530?

My background is that I am not rich and cannot afford a very high maintenance car. I am not looking to increase hp or buy a spoiler for aerodynamic purposes etc. I simply love E 39's. I have always wanted one and can now finally afford a semi-decent one.

I don't understand half the stuff I have read on these forums so far so thats why I need help and opinions. I appreciate any responses.

Thanks

·
Registered
7,781 Posts
They are all varations of the BMW I6 (six cylinder) engine and I wouldn't say any one of them is more or less reliable than the other. The 528 was made up until 2000 (I think). Then they replaced it with the 525 and 530 variations that have slightly less or more HP than the 525 respectively. You'll get slightly better mileage on the 525 and 528, but maybe only a couple of MPG. I had the prior model 525 before I had the 540 and I could drive all the way from Orange County to the SF Bay Area and still have 1/4 tank left.

If or when things on a sports package car need to be replaced, they'll be slightly more. For instance, it takes bigger tires for better handling, but bigger tires cost more, but the difference isn't all that significant so I wouldn't avoid a car with the sports package just to save on costs if you find one that's in better shape with fewer miles than a non-sport.

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
12,023 Posts
how much do you have to spend???

·
Jedi Master
853 Posts
I am not looking to increase hp or buy a spoiler for aerodynamic purposes etc. I simply love E 39's.
Welcome to the family.