BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to the bimmer family. I just purchased an e36 M3, 1998. I am fairly new to the bimmer and my car was used. I don't have an owners manual. Can anyone refer me to any sites other than this one that talk about my model car? Can anyone tell me what the button on the center console that has s^m^e letters does? Also I am curious about racing, can an e36 m3 beat a e46 330. My friend wants to race me. Thank you, all and I look foward to being in the bimmer family.

·
Registered
2,291 Posts
You can go to bmwusa.com and sign up for the owner's circle and download the owner's manual. Or...you can go to the dealer and order a hardcopy from them.

The "s-e-m" button is for the auto tranny (why an auto tranny- SMG excluded- in an M3 is beyond me- but whatever blows your skirt up :) S =sport (shifts higher, gives more performance), E = economy (shifts sooner, gives better gas mileage) M = manual (pseudo-manual- you pick the up and down gear changes, but if you don't shift the car will shift for you)

As far a racing goes....E36 M3 auto vs an E46 330 stick would be a close call....E36 M3 auto vs E46 M3 auto- nod goes to the M3 by a nose

·
Registered
2,291 Posts
nate328Ci said:
I agree, the M3 would win :p :lmao:

There is no such thing as an auto E46 M3 anyway :)flipoff: SMG haters)
Ooops...E36 M3 auto vs E46 330 auto...M3 by a nose

Lets no go to the "SMG is an auto" debate :)

G

·
Bruce said:
Ooops...E36 M3 auto vs E46 330 auto...M3 by a nose

Lets no go to the "SMG is an auto" debate :)
No third pedal + can shift on it's own = auto

Market positioning as option for badge buyer who can't shift = auto

(Track junkies who can appreciate and utilize the SMG's faster shift speed make up, what, 0.001% of SMG M3 buyers.)

But I will never call SMG a slushie. Just an "auto".

·
OMGWTFBBQ
11,262 Posts
TD said:
No third pedal + can shift on it's own = auto