BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
567 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Folks,

First, this is an awesome board. I'm new to BMW, but I've hung around some chevy boards in the past, and you guys have some great knowledge here.

I just purchased a 2007 760Li with some miles on it. From what I can tell, with the help of the VIN lookup site, it has every option. Rear entertainment, coolbox, night vision, active cruise. I think the paint was even an "Individual" option. It seems to run great, but there are a couple little things that I'm trying to work out.

Comfort Access doesn't seem to work at all. I've checked the battery in the remote and it seems fine. I swapped it with another battery, but that made no different. I've tried it with the windows down because it is tinted, but no luck. It doesn't work on the door handles or for the ignition; the key must be in the slot to get it to start. I tried some key resyncing steps I found here, but I couldn't make it through the instructions. My best efforts didn't seem to help.

Some more background, and tell me if I'm headed in the right direction; I'm told the liquid-cooled alternator was replaced recently. When I got the car, I had to set the clock. This makes me think there could be something going on with the battery and it needs to be synced to the car. I saw another thread where someone was complaining about the cd and/or dvd changer cycling through all the slots when the car was unlocked, and it was mentioned that the battery could cause that, too. Well, mine's cycling through the cd and dvd magazines, but I didn't know any better. What do you think? Could it simply be the battery? Or does the key just need to be re-synced?