BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to cars and would really like to start getting into them. Recently (March actually) my uncle just past away, and my parents gave me his 02 525i, since it was just sitting there anyway. Now there's just a few problems (that I can presently see) and honestly the search function and the stickies are a bit overwhelming for me when I barely know what I was doing. I was wondering if anyone could help me with the following problems.

1. So I have 2 car remotes right now. And neither of the remote has working controls. I was assuming I needed to reprogram them, but based on what I am seeing, I need a working remote to start with. They both start the car perfectly fine but the buttons are not working. I read that they both have internal batteries that should charge after a long period of time driving. I have driven both keys for around 10-12 hours and I'm unsure if its a battery problem or not.

2. My odometer (as well as the other 2 notification bars) seem to have their backlight broken. When it shines in the sun I could see it, but it is not visible unless within the sun.

3. This one is a long shot, but my aftermarket (Nakamichi NA130) display doesn't work. The sound plays and I have no issue with the radio or anything. The display just doesn't display anything. But when I look at it closely I sort of feel like the screen is turning on, which makes me believe it might be like problem number 2.