BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
I'm a DlCK! So what?
3,609 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After seeing the thread about the guy who let the Walmart guys work on his car (without proper communication, apparently), I figured I’d offer some advice to those of you who don’t want to crawl under your car, get oil on your hands, or worry about dealing with oil in general.

I went to a local tire and oil change place and I POLITELY asked for the manager. I told him I was looking for a reputable shop for oil changes, to which he proudly boasted that his shop was the place. I made to sure POLITELY inform him that I'm really finicky about my car and I’ve had some bad experiences with other places in the past. He was understanding and said they would gladly accommodate any requests I had.

Here’s where I really got his attention: I told him I would gladly push more business his way if he guaranteed my car would come back in perfect condition.

I let him know I would provide my own oil and filter and asked if I could speak with the technician who would handle my car. I POLITELY asked the technician to rub a little oil on the new O-ring for the oil filter housing cap so it wouldn’t roll or pinch, asked him to not over-tighten the drain plug or oil filter housing cap, and also showed him the Blackstone Labs oil sample kit. He was understanding of everything and even verified proper torque specs with me on the drain plug and oil filter housing cap.

I ended up paying the shop $16 (that does not include the cost of the oil and filter) and I have had zero issues from it.

That's worth it to me to not have to crawl under my car, deal with a Mity-Vac with improperly sealing joints, or deal with transporting and disposing of oil.