BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to BMWs and was looking to buy one in the near future. I currently have a mazda 6 and I think it's time to go to a convertible. So, I found a 03 330ci convertible for sale with 94k miles on it. It's an automatic and the dealer is asking $11k for it. I really like the car but I am nervous because of the miles on it. I do not know any of the previous maintenance however. If I would get this car, what would be the major service items at 100k miles and does anyone know how much it would cost at a dealer to have it done. I would be willing to try and do it on my own however I have 0 experience working on cars and trying on a BMW probably wouldn't be a smart idea :) any suggestions or opinions would be helpful

·
is a Texan
1,400 Posts
100K is a big maintenance area for the car since it has likely missed all those items needing done around 60-80K as well. Having work done at the dealer is going to be half the cost of the car, likely. As you know, there is now real answer we can give with no knowledge of what the history is on the car. Get a proper PPI done on it to get a better feel for condition.

Working on these cars is easier than one thinks...very simple cars. Inline 6 and RWD keeps the setup spaced out and room to work, the rest is cake.

Feel free to read up some in the Wiki if you haven't yet: http://www.bimmerfest.com/wiki/index.php/BMW_E46

Also, automatic?! You need to have good reasons for wanting a slushbox around here! :p

·
BMW Fanatic
194 Posts
Well, first question, did you ask for the CarFax? Always ask for it, its free at most dealerships, and I would suggest you have a look at the wiki if you haven't already. Also, this has nothin to do with the mechanics, but I would try and lower the price, I'm sure they would go down atleast $1000, KBB rates it at a little under $12k for "Excellent".

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·