BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
1,529 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, i'm new to BMW cars and society, just got my car couple weeks back. it's a E46 325CI 2002, automatic transmission (yeah i know automatic tell me about it!! but couldn't find a manual car in mint condition)
anyways i'm having troubles with the Mass Air Flow Sensor. the engine does not idle correctly (that's often not on a regular basis), somewhat bad mpg and i guess not its optimum performance. the "Service Engine Soon" is on, obviously.
i went to a mechanic who's a friend, told me that it cannot b cleaned or whatever, it needs to b changed. i googled this and found that there's a cleaner called CRC that would fix this issue without changing the sensor, any ideas?

· Coyote Racing Team
662 Posts
Honestly it can't hurt to try the CRC Mass Air Flow Sensor Cleaner.

Pick up a can at your local auto parts store and follow the directions. $4 and very easy to do yourself. If it fixes it, GREAT! If not, you're only out $4 and 1/2 hour of time.

· Coupe OR Never
1,447 Posts
Yes, it cannot hurt to use CRC MAF sensor cleaner and it is very cheap and easy but do not expect miracle from it. It could very well be your MAF sensor on its way out or could be something else like torn air intake boots or bad O2 sensors(pre-cat).
I would get the codes read out. Why don't you do that first and let us know. You could get lot more and specific help with some codes...

I have the same exact car you have even the model year same...

· Registered
1,529 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
2moro i'm gonna get it scanned and see what's really goin on.
i did some research on the CRC on how to use it and the feedbacks, if there's hope the CRC will do its work, keepin my fingers crossed....
oh btw "iskoos", ur car is auto or manual? what's ur mpg? mine now is barely doin 60mpg!! could the MAF/O2 sensors cause this ?

· Registered
2014 535d xDrive
181 Posts