BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to adding power to my 325 is and didn't know where to start. Looks mean little to me, I just want raw performance. I plan on going a little here and there. Where do you guys reccomend starting? I thought maybe intake, chip, exhaust, but that sounds too cliche. Is there a better way to start. Also I'm a college student so I can only spend about 750 to 1000 at a time.

·
another E30 nut
916 Posts
a chip is going to be one of your best investments for under 200$. Comforti is one of many. Exhaust will end up costing you more than 1000 at a time if you want to do it right and actually have HP gains.
Your intake box can be left in for simplicity and engine life. There arent much things to gain from removing the box. Certain Tests have shown that you acutally have more HP with the Stock box. Wide Open Throttle intake noise is about the only difference you will be able to notice.

An IS already has a somewhat factory modified suspension. However you can install new Springs and Shocks for a noticible ride and car response increase.
Sway bars will come later when you learn more about your car and really want to push it.

Wheel mods are also a good addition, but with the stock BBS's on the IS you cant go wrong.

Im sure the other guys will throw in some stuff i missed.

Matt

·
Registered
478 Posts
For some reason I always like throwing this out...

Stickers... lots and lots of stickers...

Save up the money until you have enough for a turbo. :thumbup:

·
BMW FETISH!!!
5,405 Posts
to much playing around to put a turbo in. Like u have to replace everything in the engine to take the extra boost. Orelse POP GOES THE M20.
If u got the dough, get it. Heaps of hp gain but alot of $$$$

·
BMW FETISH!!!
5,405 Posts
ford mustang? No chance... Drop a m50 with nice s50 cams and shrick camshafts, exaust and extractors with chip and watch it maul any v8's and ricers!

·
Registered