BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so im doing a m42 turbo build but i want to get as much power and quickness as i can out of the engine before i turbo it. whats all i can do?

i plan on so far, headers, exhaust, intake, chip, light weight flywheel, short shifter.

what else, i dont know much about engine stuff, what about new pistons? injectors? im new to engine stuff it would be great if you guys could help!

Thanks.

·
Please, call me Brian.
10,782 Posts
There really is no point in doing a chip on a car you're going to boost. The chip will need to be removed for standalone engine management or a chip designed specifically for the turbo kit and mods.
Headers are also pointless, you will need a custom exhaust manifold for your turbo to work.
Lightweight flywheel? You need to make sure your clutch/flywheel combo will be able to withstand bigger power numbers from a turbo setup.

If you dont' know much about "engine stuff", a turbo is probably not a road for you to be traveling yet, unless you plan on handing a shop $4000 and telling them to build, install, and tune a turbo for your car.

There's a ton of info about this stuff on e30tech and R3Vlimted, start reading now, and in a month you should have a very good idea of what you'll need.

·
I feed trolls
4,976 Posts
Also, the M42 isnt exactly the best base engine out there...
Like Ryan said, dont buy anything yet until you get your turbo build going. And, not to be a dlck, but its clear you dont have a very good idea of what your diggin' into. Read and learn before you buy parts; buying parts you cant use is expensive

·
Please, call me Brian.
10,782 Posts
Also, the M42 isnt exactly the best base engine out there...