BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

· Newbie BMW Owner
Joined
·
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got all my parts in this week to do the nav retrofit in my 325i 2005. anyway, i'm sitting in the garage now, i got all the parts installed and connected, but the screen doesn't come on when i turn the car on. everything else works. the screen even folds down when i press the arrow button, but it doesn't seem to function any other way. What could i have done wrong? I've checked cables, they seem to be all snug in their places. This is going to drive me crazy. Can anyone recommend anything? is it likely i got a bad screen? I got it from that tim fellow in germany.
 

· There and back again
Joined
·
2,623 Posts
cambie said:
I got all my parts in this week to do the nav retrofit in my 325i 2005. anyway, i'm sitting in the garage now, i got all the parts installed and connected, but the screen doesn't come on when i turn the car on. everything else works. the screen even folds down when i press the arrow button, but it doesn't seem to function any other way. What could i have done wrong? I've checked cables, they seem to be all snug in their places. This is going to drive me crazy. Can anyone recommend anything? is it likely i got a bad screen? I got it from that tim fellow in germany.
Do you have your NAV computer hooked up properly? The display is just a display - something else has to generate the video for it to display. That is either the NAV computer or the TV tuner option.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
8,402 Posts
cambie said:
update: when i click the button that looks like a clock on my nav screen, it shows a bmw logo...but i cannot get it to show a screen saying Load Firmware, like i was expecting
Remove whatever DVD/CD is in your Nav computer, wait until the computer's LED light computer is off and then disconnect your battery. Reconnect and try again.

You should at least hear the radio or the housing's CD Player... :dunno:
 

· Newbie BMW Owner
Joined
·
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Technic said:
Remove whatever DVD/CD is in your Nav computer, wait until the computer's LED light computer is off and then disconnect your battery. Reconnect and try again.

You should at least hear the radio or the housing's CD Player... :dunno:
i'm not hearing anything, which scares me. I did what you said, and didn't see any improvment.

I decided to stick the firmware update cd in to see if it would load it, and when i clicked that clock looking button again, it showed a screen that said "you're software is up to date already. Please put in nav dvd and click ok." But the screen would disappear and i never could figure out how to click ok."

The only think i'm thinking maybe i screwed up is the wire that goes behind the intrument panel. Did it clip onto a wireharness that connects to the instrument panel??? I may have screwed up there.

and by the way, i followed your guide over on e46fanatics.com, and i think i was pretty faithful on it. I wasn't really able to follow the guide for some things, like removing the back seat....but it's all connect right I think.

I think i'm going to stop messing with it for the night. I'm getting so frustrated. But thanks so much for the help thus far. Please keep it coming if you've got any ideas.
 

· Newbie BMW Owner
Joined
·
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
and just to add some more info here, i came back to my car after dinner (i've basically got it all put back together now) and unlocked it with the remote, and i noticed the display was showing the bmw logo again....it stayed on for about 30 seconds to a minute, then went to black. i'm worried i did connect one of those wires wrong.

//edit.....i've got more info. apparetly the the display coming on didn' have to do with being locked or not, it just comes on when i open the drivers side door. no other doors though. I must have connected that wire somewhere wrong....i hope it's something that simple.

//edit....one more time....
I got in the car for a drive in noticed....oops, nothing on the dash is working. no lights, no gear indicator, no, clicking noise when i signaled for a turn. so i knew the wire in the instrument panel harness could not be correct. i just unclipped it, and turned the key to test the dash functionality, and it was all back to normal, and low and behold, the nav screen came on like it was suppose to...although i dont know what it said...it's in german. it doesn't look like a "update firmware now" message, it looks like the thing is operational and ready to go. only thing is i need to know where this wire is suppose to be clipped to. for now i'm going to see if i can figure out where to go from here. any suggestions would be great.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
8,402 Posts
cambie said:
and just to add some more info here, i came back to my car after dinner (i've basically got it all put back together now) and unlocked it with the remote, and i noticed the display was showing the bmw logo again....it stayed on for about 30 seconds to a minute, then went to black. i'm worried i did connect one of those wires wrong.

//edit.....i've got more info. apparetly the the display coming on didn' have to do with being locked or not, it just comes on when i open the drivers side door. no other doors though. I must have connected that wire somewhere wrong....i hope it's something that simple.

//edit....one more time....
I got in the car for a drive in noticed....oops, nothing on the dash is working. no lights, no gear indicator, no, clicking noise when i signaled for a turn. so i knew the wire in the instrument panel harness could not be correct. i just unclipped it, and turned the key to test the dash functionality, and it was all back to normal, and low and behold, the nav screen came on like it was suppose to...although i dont know what it said...it's in german. it doesn't look like a "update firmware now" message, it looks like the thing is operational and ready to go. only thing is i need to know where this wire is suppose to be clipped to. for now i'm going to see if i can figure out where to go from here. any suggestions would be great.
The wire in the intrument cluster is the speed sensor and it is brown/red in the Nav Retrofit harness, going to a black/white wire in slot #8 in the instrument panel connector...



... there is another wire that connects to the dash, the Reverse light wire. It is the blue/yellow wire in the harness and connects to the blue/yellow wire in the junction box behind the fuse box in the glove box:



About the German screen prompts, try again to load the firmware using the firmware CD. You still will need to take it to the dealer if you want the USA firmware loaded, though.

You are a very lucky man... you could have damaged permanently an electrical component -and some big bucks in repairs- in the car by connecting this wire in the wrong connector slot.

Good luck and double check again the installation manual this time... :D
 

· Newbie BMW Owner
Joined
·
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
as of my last posting, i went back out there and messed with the system, and changed it's language to English (GB), and it looks like it's all working fine.

I'm a little confused still about branch A1. I read that part in the installation manual that says to connect it to the Black/White wire in the instrument panel, and when I got behind the instrument panel, i wasn't sure exactly which of the two wiring harnesses it was talking about. But when i looked, only one had a Black/White wire, so i clipped it to it. apparently that wasn't the one. so i guess i'll go take the intrument cluser apart again and see if i can find the right wire now.

As far as the branch that connects to the blue/yellow wire behind the glove box, I'm pretty confident I got that one right. I don't know exactly what the unit would do when it's in reverse, so i'm not sure how to tell if that funcionality is working properly.

But the other problem I'm having now is my sirius radio isn't viewed as a source to the nav unit. I guess i'll have to recheck that harness too.

And in all, i'm pretty thankful for the way this turned out. As you said Technic, i was scared i screwed up my nav computer or something, which would not have been cool to re-buy. But all seems well with it. I never loaded the "Load this disc First" cd that came with my nav computer. It just worked with the nav dvd in it. Should I go back and load this cd?

And another thing to mention, after my screw ups, the "Service Engine Soon" like came on. It went off a little while later. I'm guessing there's just some codes in the computer saying something to the effect of "the dash isn't working anymore". I'm going to take the car in this week to have that checked out, and perhaps get them to sync the nav unit with the rest of the car. What do i need to tell them exactly to do this? I know they don't s support nav retrofits, so how can i get them to do it without pitching too much of a fit?

Thanks so much for all the help. I guess i'm off to get this all working correctly one more time.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
7,065 Posts
cambie said:
But the other problem I'm having now is my sirius radio isn't viewed as a source to the nav unit. I guess i'll have to recheck that harness too.
Make sure the radio is not set for European mode but set for North America.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
8,402 Posts
ObD said:
Make sure the radio is not set for European mode but set for North America.
Yep, that's the cause of not recognizing the Sirius... :thumbup:

To change the AREA to USA:

1. Turn the Nav on and make sure that is in radio mode.
2. Press and hold the SEL button until the screen changes to "Software Version XXXXXXX"
3. Using the ">" button go thru the menus until you find "AREA"
4. Use the "1" and "2" preset buttons to change the country to "USA"
5. Turn Nav off and on and you should be set.

If the country does not change unfortunately your tuner is a Professional Becker BM54 that is fixed to the European area. You need to replace that tuner with a Business tuner BM53, US version, to get you Sirius recognized. :(
 

· Newbie BMW Owner
Joined
·
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 · (Edited)
hmm, it seems maybe i don't have the appropriate tuner installed. How long do you have to hold down select> I held it down until my finger started to hurt, and never got a response. I got my tuner from Veheh, at Crevier BMW. I know the label on it said it was a Business Radio, but perhaps it's not the US version? One interesting thing i saw on it was that there was a handwritten letter "R" on the side of it. Small, but it made me think maybe it was refurbed. I ordered a new one. The part number on my receipt is 65-12-6-964-398. I haven't felt like going to the car to check it out physically. I think I'll give ol Veheh a call on Monday and see what the story is. I definately want my sirius back. Without it, I've only got CD's.

Also, if this fixes my Sirius, should I even worry about that last cable? I took the instrument panel off again, and am nearly certain I had it on the correct wire. I just don't see anywhere else it could be. It's the only black/white wire in the area. And I tried to check to make sure it was going to the right pin, but couldn't quite figure out how to get the wires out of that harness enough to see where each wire was going.

And finally, what should I do about the dealership? I want to take it in to clear those codes from the computer, but I also want them to do whatever needs to be done to make my nav system like it came from the factory. or as close as possible.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
8,402 Posts
cambie said:
hmm, it seems maybe i don't have the appropriate tuner installed. How long do you have to hold down select> I held it down until my finger started to hurt, and never got a response. I got my tuner from Veheh, at Crevier BMW. I know the label on it said it was a Business Radio, but perhaps it's not the US version? One interesting thing i saw on it was that there was a handwritten letter "R" on the side of it. Small, but it made me think maybe it was refurbed. I ordered a new one. The part number on my receipt is 65-12-6-964-398. I haven't felt like going to the car to check it out physically. I think I'll give ol Veheh a call on Monday and see what the story is. I definately want my sirius back. Without it, I've only got CD's.

Also, if this fixes my Sirius, should I even worry about that last cable? I took the instrument panel off again, and am nearly certain I had it on the correct wire. I just don't see anywhere else it could be. It's the only black/white wire in the area. And I tried to check to make sure it was going to the right pin, but couldn't quite figure out how to get the wires out of that harness enough to see where each wire was going.

And finally, what should I do about the dealership? I want to take it in to clear those codes from the computer, but I also want them to do whatever needs to be done to make my nav system like it came from the factory. or as close as possible.
Try again:

1. Turn Nav on.
2. Press the right knob to confirm the "Accept" screen.
3. Press FM
4. Press and hold SEL
5. Around 8-10 seconds later the "SERVICE" screen will show up with the 'Serial Number XXXXX' - sorry, the 'Software Version XXXXXXXX" is the second screen, not the first one as I stated before.
6. Press several times the ">" button until you see the "AREA" menu.
7. Use the "1" and "2" buttons to change the count to the USA.
8. Turn the Nav off and then on... you should be set.

My radio P/N is 65 12 6 927 916, BM53 and the one pictured at www.bmwnav.com is a P/N 65 12 6 927 910, oth are Sirius capable. As long as your tuner is from MY 2003-on it should support Sirius once you change the Area country to the USA.

Your dealer should not have any problem coding the Nav into your car, my local dealer did that to mine without any fuss... one hour of labor was charged, though.

:thumbup:
 

· Newbie BMW Owner
Joined
·
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 · (Edited)
Technic said:
Try again:

1. Turn Nav on.
2. Press the right knob to confirm the "Accept" screen.
3. Press FM
4. Press and hold SEL
5. Around 8-10 seconds later the "SERVICE" screen will show up with the 'Serial Number XXXXX' - sorry, the 'Software Version XXXXXXXX" is the second screen, not the first one as I stated before.
6. Press several times the ">" button until you see the "AREA" menu.
7. Use the "1" and "2" buttons to change the count to the USA.
8. Turn the Nav off and then on... you should be set.

My radio P/N is 65 12 6 927 916, BM53 and the one pictured at www.bmwnav.com is a P/N 65 12 6 927 910, oth are Sirius capable. As long as your tuner is from MY 2003-on it should support Sirius once you change the Area country to the USA.

Your dealer should not have any problem coding the Nav into your car, my local dealer did that to mine without any fuss... one hour ofabor was charged, though.

:thumbup:
hmmm, well that brings up another thing then. I never get that accept screen you are talking about...now i'm kind of worried. Is my nav never actually turning off, or do I not have things loaded correctly. maybe I should reload that cd I got with the nav computer taht says "V25 Load 1st" on it.

I'm going to go out and try what you suggest one more time.

//edit - just back inside. I was still unsuccessful at bringing up the Software version screen. i did notice the channel changing is in .1 steppings. if i remember correctly, that tells me it's in european mode.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
8,402 Posts
cambie said:
hmmm, well that brings up another thing then. I never get that accept screen you are talking about...now i'm kind of worried. Is my nav never actually turning off, or do I not have things loaded correctly. maybe I should reload that cd I got with the nav computer taht says "V25 Load 1st" on it.

I'm going to go out and try what you suggest one more time.

//edit - just back inside. I was still unsuccessful at bringing up the Software version screen. i did notice the channel changing is in .1 steppings. if i remember correctly, that tells me it's in european mode.
I forgot that your tuner is in Euro mode thus no Accept screen. :mad: Regardless, you should be able to get into the Service Mode if you follow the steps above without step #2...

Go to any FM radio station, turn the Nav off and then on and inmediately press and hold the SEL button... the Service Mode should come on. :confused:
 

· Newbie BMW Owner
Joined
·
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Technic said:
I forgot that your tuner is in Euro mode thus no Accept screen. :mad: Regardless, you should be able to get into the Service Mode if you follow the steps above without step #2...

Go to any FM radio station, turn the Nav off and then on and inmediately press and hold the SEL button... the Service Mode should come on. :confused:
well, I FINALLY got it! I turned the unit on, tuned to an fm station, and turned it off. turned it back on and immediately hit SEL and held....nothing. But i used the Menu to turn the monitor off, and when i turned it back on, it was showing the Software Version screen. I clicked the arrow and made it over to the area section. Now my sirius works!!!!

Thank you so much for your guide and your thorough assistance with my post install troubles.

And I hate to carry this thread on, but I never was able to get the rear deck removed in my 2005 325i sedan. The rear seat in mine seemed different than the one in your instructions, and that kind of stopped me there. Basically, your instructions seemed to indicate a small piece of the seat that provided padding along the left side. My rear seat was all one piece. While i was able to unclip the left and right sides of the seat, it seemed to be screwed in in the center along the top. I couldn't figure out how to get that out.

So, as a result, I've got my nav antenna just sitting up on my rear deck right now. How can i figure out how to get it in it's proper place? Or, I saw in another thread someone say that if you've got assist, you've already got a GPS antenna. I've got assist, is it possible for me to tap into this other antenna?

I'm going to call and get an appointment with the dealership tomorrow to code the nav to sync with the car, and check the codes I guess since I had that service engine light on for a little while.

But all seems well now. It feels so good for it to be working now!
 

· Registered
Joined
·
8,402 Posts
cambie said:
well, I FINALLY got it! I turned the unit on, tuned to an fm station, and turned it off. turned it back on and immediately hit SEL and held....nothing. But i used the Menu to turn the monitor off, and when i turned it back on, it was showing the Software Version screen. I clicked the arrow and made it over to the area section. Now my sirius works!!!!

Thank you so much for your guide and your thorough assistance with my post install troubles.

And I hate to carry this thread on, but I never was able to get the rear deck removed in my 2005 325i sedan. The rear seat in mine seemed different than the one in your instructions, and that kind of stopped me there. Basically, your instructions seemed to indicate a small piece of the seat that provided padding along the left side. My rear seat was all one piece. While i was able to unclip the left and right sides of the seat, it seemed to be screwed in in the center along the top. I couldn't figure out how to get that out.

So, as a result, I've got my nav antenna just sitting up on my rear deck right now. How can i figure out how to get it in it's proper place? Or, I saw in another thread someone say that if you've got assist, you've already got a GPS antenna. I've got assist, is it possible for me to tap into this other antenna?

I'm going to call and get an appointment with the dealership tomorrow to code the nav to sync with the car, and check the codes I guess since I had that service engine light on for a little while.

But all seems well now. It feels so good for it to be working now!
Wow... congratulations!

If the E46 rear non-folding seatback is attached like the one in the E36 then there are no bolts only two tabs at the top like the ones holding the bottom portion at the front. If you pull the seat towards you and then up you should get the seatback out.

Because you have Assist you already have a GPS antenna like the one used by the Nav computer and installed in the same place... unfortunately the cable do not have the right connector for the Nav computer, at least in my particular case. The GPS antenna cable in the Assist TCU is the one with the Blue connector. Try that connector in your Nav computer just in case that in 2005 BMW changed it and now fits; in my 2004 it did not fit.

Good luck... :thumbup:
 

· Newbie BMW Owner
Joined
·
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 · (Edited)
Technic said:
Wow... congratulations!

If the E46 rear non-folding seatback is attached like the one in the E36 then there are no bolts only two tabs at the top like the ones holding the bottom portion at the front. If you pull the seat towards you and then up you should get the seatback out.
thanks for that tip. i'll go try that when I get home from work today.
Because you have Assist you already have a GPS antenna like the one used by the Nav computer and installed in the same place... unfortunately the cable do not have the right connector for the Nav computer, at least in my particular case. The GPS antenna cable in the Assist TCU is the one with the Blue connector. Try that connector in your Nav computer just in case that in 2005 BMW changed it and now fits; in my 2004 it did not fit.

Good luck... :thumbup:
as far as the gps antenna, i'm not really clear on this. Does Assist need this GPS antenna that already exists in my car? If so, and I get lucky and can connect it to my nav computer, is it going to effect anythign with Assist?

And, assuming i can't use the existing gps antenna, where else can i mount the new one? I don't really want to leave it just hanging out on the rear deck. I'm sick of all the visable antenna's i've already got from sirius and assist.

oh, and just out of curiosity, why does that one wire need to connect to the break light? What info does the nav system gain from that? and in the instructions, it says "just pull down on this piece, it won't break". naturally, i broke it. Should i just tape it back up in there, or let a dealer fix it?
 

· Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Removing climate control

Can any one post how to remove the climate control (2004 330i) from its location for Nav retrofitting if you dont have the special tool (2 L-shaped metal scales)? Will any flat metal scale do? Does any one have a picture/description of what holds the climate control in its console?

Thanks.
-sandeep
 

· ex-M couper
Joined
·
1,776 Posts
sbhatia said:
Can any one post how to remove the climate control (2004 330i) from its location for Nav retrofitting if you dont have the special tool (2 L-shaped metal scales)? Will any flat metal scale do? Does any one have a picture/description of what holds the climate control in its console?

Thanks.
-sandeep
I can't even recall how I did this, but it wasn't particularly difficult. I didn't have any special tools, so they aren't really necessary (or I was very lucky).
If you search on my name you ought to find a thread on nav retrofitting that has a link to the DIY that I used.
BTW, I ended up with some screws left over; apparently the nav screen doesn't use as many as the non-nav setup.
 
1 - 20 of 36 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top