BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was recently at an Infiniti dealer test driving a G35x and was told by the dealer that their traffic feature on the nav gets the updates from the satellite radio. Is this the same for BMWs? I got a year of free subscription to Sirius when I purchased the vehicle and it's just about to run out. Not planning on continuing/renewing the suscription because I rarely listen to it. However, I love the traffic feature on the nav and don't want to lose it if it gets the updates from Sirius.

Anyone know for sure?

·
Its Here!
358 Posts
I doubt it.... I don't have satellite and I still have traffic information on my screen. Albeit sometimes it waits to tell me there is traffic until I'm stuck in the middle of it!

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
It uses fm radio to update real time traffic.
So it's only as good as your location is as far as updating.

·
Current 'Fest Addict
944 Posts
It uses fm radio to update real time traffic.
So it's only as good as your location is as far as updating.
+1, the more popular FM stations (I think all Clear Channel stations do now) broadcast the info. No subscription necessary.

·
Registered
2,680 Posts
What they said. The BMW system is free of charge and doesn't use the extra-cost XM/Sirius traffic services that most other companies offer. There is a second FM tuner that finds the Clear Channel RTT stations and downloads the data that way.

BMW: +1
Infiniti: -1

·
Registered
313 Posts