BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a fresh newb to this forum. i want to thank all of you and Bimmerfest for this wonderful thing.
with that out of the way,

i have an 02 745i

i have a low beam healdight not working on drivers, left side. so obvious first fix, i bought a new bulb. not the problem, swapped out bulb, igniter as a unit with the working one on right side. still no light action. next would be, the ballast, from what ive found and read so far.
my question is --> :What are the odds its the ballast?

i am trying to not have to take the bumper off more than once if i dont have to. i havent had to yet, so i am unsure what i am getting myself into. i have a funny feeling i am going to have to though. just to do the process of elimination. then order the ballast. and then pulling bumper off again to replace it.

just looking for the odds please. any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
as well as help hints to taking bumper off as well. i did a search, and didnt get much results. as to DIY.. thanks agian.

·
Registered
1,908 Posts
I would say after doing the things that you have done there is a very good chance it is the ballast that is bad. Taking off the bumper is not that hard. There should be instructions in the DIY section. I can take mine off now in under 15 minutes without really rushing.

I have taken mine off about 3 times now to install new angel eye bulbs, trouble shoot the same problem you have right now (Bad Ballast) and to install new HID fogs.

·
Registered
1,908 Posts
The ballasts is only ~100 used so its up to you. I would say if you absolutely dont want to take off the bumper twice then just buy a new ballasts since it is most likely the problem. You can always resell it if you dont need it or keep a spare...really up to you.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
yes, very true. heres another one for ya..