BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys...really need some help. Ive had a gremlin I havemt been able to solve. I won't bore you with all the details and the trials and tribulations leading up to the problem that I have now, but trust me it's a really really long story. I have an 07 BMW X3 that the EML light is on and is in limp mode. The Accelerator pedal is completely unresponsive. Pressing the pedal all the way to the floor does absolutely nothing.I had a mechanic keep the car for 2 weeks and then at the end of the 2 weeks tell me he couldn't figure it out. The relevant code that my mechanic said is the one that I need to pay attention to is code 2D1D.
Due to that code I have replaced the throttle body and the accelerator pedal but still haven't had any luck..( And just an FY I'm not a mechanic by trade but I do have an electrical background). I spoke with another mechanic today about him possibly working on the car- he didn't want to do it but he did offer me some advice. He asked me if I had checked the fuses and specifically referred to a fuse he called an ETC. When googling I'm not able to really find a refined search for an ETC fuse associated with this vehicle. The mechanic even told me that he wasn't a 100% certain that that's what BMW called that fuse. I believe that BMW probably uses a different acronym for this fuse.
So my question to you guys is, "what fuse am I looking for that would be the ETC for this car?" Is it a literal fuse or is it a relay? The more specific and detailed You could be the better and easier it would be for me to understand as a fairly lay person when it comes to working on vehicles. I.e. specific fuse box...location..fuse #...fuse name..diagram...