BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Ex-Dictator
26,111 Posts
I can't shake the feeling that if you asked the guy who invented iDrive how to put on a pair of blue jeans, he'd say, "First, you plant a field of cotton ..."
:rofl: :rofl:

·
Registered
56 Posts
I have read several reviews on other Forums from recent owners (not people paid to write magazine reviews) of the E90 with Idrive/Nav, and while some say the Idrive does take a little getting used to at first, they overwhelming agrees that it's a nice feature in terms of cutomizing settings in the car and for getting operational status of the vehicle. Some of the things you can program/modify are things that non-Idrive equipped cars would have to be brought into a dealer to have done. As an IT professional I can personally appreaciate having that level of control. I think Idrive has gotten a negative rap from people who, when they hear about a Computer screen and a Mouse-like gadget in a car, conjure up an image of complexity that doen't exist. BMW is still "The Ultimate Driving Machine" but it has to evolve with the technology just like its competitors. I personnaly think it's a cool thing that you can check your oil level via a dashboard display verses opening the Hood and pulling out a dipstick. I wish some people would just chil out and enjoy the evolution of technology. Idrive rocks! :thumbup:

·
Registered
59 Posts
Personally, I prefer I-Drive controller -- single large controller with 2 buttons -- to Audi A6's similar type controller that is smaller, with 20 million buttons surrounding it that can be accidentially pressed by just putting your hand on the center console. Yes people are impatient and something that may be awkward and take some time to learn immediately gives negative vibes. But, I believe, for the car magazine writers it just wouldn't be an article about new BMW if they don't trash I-Drive.

·
Registered
588 Posts