BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I just bought a 2009 335d. I am new to diesel.
Any suggestions?

The car has 20,000 miles, premium package, cold weather package, convenience package, and sport package.

How often do you change the oil? I took it to my local dealership and they told me the next service date was January 2012. Should I rely on the car's on board computer system to alert me of a service or should I do the required change myself every 5,000 miles or so?

Is the dealership supposed to change the air filter and diesel filter? If so, when? (It has never been changed)

Recently, I had a recall for computer resetting, which the dealership took care of (In 2 days!). However, I am very apprehensive to take my car to the dealership again due to the following experience:

At the dealership when I picked up my car, I was given a service order stating that the microfilter had been changed. But when I came home and opened the filter compartment
(which is underneath windshield) It was full of dirt and leaves! I was appalled because this was a blatant lie. I called BMWUSA and relayed the story regarding the dealership.
Within 24 hours, I got a call from the general manager, service manager, and the owner.
They asked for me to bring my car for inspection. After the inspection, the service manager agreed with me that it had not been changed and the work order was a lie.
They gave me a free wash and wax coupon after changing the filter.

But my question is: Who knows if they really change you oil at the stealership?

Thanks

·
Registered
361 Posts
Welcome to the world of diesel! I think the most important issue is to make sure you don't accidentally fill up with gasoline, and, if you do, don't start the car!