Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, wanted your quick input. I have a 04***8217; X3 and we***8217;ve had a few issues with it that***8217;s are fix. As I am a broke college student that loves his car, I wanted to know if there***8217;s stuff I can do to save gas? (Everyone body hates spending 50 bucks on gas) I***8217;ve thought about more efficient plugs and I wanted to check with what you recommend. My fear is to lose instantaneous power for better mileage. I wanted to get something that does not lose power or instant power, AND save gas or be more efficient. Please let me know if there***8217;s anything else I can also do? Thanks

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
New proper plugs will not affect your power - not sure where you got that info from. The correct plugs will actually provide a better performance feel.

No such thing as more efficient plugs either only the correct type for you car and model. What’s the mileage on the car?

Depending on mileage the following would help with fuel savings. Cheapest to most expensive parts.

Air filter, plugs, fuel filter, coils.

Any check engine lights or anything?

Sent from my iPhone using Bimmerfest

·
Registered
107 Posts
The stock plugs are about the best you can get. In general, plugs aren't going to provide you with better responsiveness or mpg unless your current plugs have deteriorated. As long as the plugs are sparking correctly and allowing the fuel/air mixture to ignite fully, the only changes you'd get would have to come from a change to the computer mapping of fuel/air mix/amount or timing changes or mechanically you could modify the intake and/or exhaust. None of these would be worth the effort. You're not going to find a $5 modification that gets you 40 mpg.