BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to BMWs but because VW is buying back my 2009 Jetta Sportwagen I'm looking around for alternatives.

I drive about 80 miles/day round trip so the 328d is very attractive since it keeps the extremely good mileage of the JSW and lets me get away from what is a particularly fiddly car and expensive to repair car.

I drove a 328d today at Tulley BMW in Manchester and really loved it, I'm also looking at the Volvo S60 and the Acura TSX. The bimmer is the most fun and would go well with my airhead :)

What I'm looking to understand is how maintenance hungry bimmers are, particularly the small diesel.

Anyone out there with some insight?

·
Registered
11 Posts
I got my 328d in 2014 no issues whatsoever and I'm at 70,000 kms. Other than the regular service it's been great. Who knows what the future holds but so very happy with our 328d. The other premium cars your looking are not exactly cheap to fix either. If one is worried about future maintenance bills maybe lease or better yet buy a Toyota Corolla.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Sadly I am an Engineer by trade so I did consider what the most practical car for the mission was and it is the Corolla and the Civic. OTOH I'm also looking for something enjoyable to drive. Like everything its a balance :)

Maybe I've just been trained by VW in my last 2 cars over 14 years to believe that cars are supposed to have catastrophic issues like:

• Ignition coils that fracture going from cold to hot
  • Sunroofs that seem designed to leak
  • HPFPs that fail catastrophically
  • A diesel emissions system that has at least 3 well known failure points
  • An AC system that is made to fail