BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie, would like feedback from forum members. I am considering in 2007 purchasing a new 525i or 530i. Several questions to ask.

• Power difference between the 525 and 530?
  • Which options should I go with?
  • Which options should I stay away from?

Would like to hear if you are happy with your purchase and any concerns with these vehicles.

Many thanks for your comments and suggestions

·
Tar Heel Faithful
14,127 Posts
Both the 525i and 530i get a 3 liter inline-6 engine, but more advanced software gives the 530i an additional 40hp and 35 lb/ft of torque up to 255hp and 220 lb/ft tq. (there's all the specs on www.bmwusa.com/vehicles/5 )

Depending on which model you use, the equipment levels are a bit different. So I'll just say get these:

xenons, split-fold down rear seats, sport package if you have sporting aspirations, multi-contour seats (try these at dealer), and likely PDC. Cold weather package bundles the heated steering wheel, which is more useful than it sounds (my X3 has it). Logic7 is great if you're willing to pay, since I don't really like the standard 5-series audio although it's not bad.

And stay away from: active steering. I'm sure someone on this board will say they love it and such, I personally think it's something that can break and lead to unnecessary trips to the dealer. Just look at all the stickys posted on this forum.......

·
Registered
171 Posts
surburban99 said:
I am a newbie, would like feedback from forum members. I am considering in 2007 purchasing a new 525i or 530i. Several questions to ask.

Would like to hear if you are happy with your purchase and any concerns with these vehicles.