BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! Newbie here. Recently bought a 2007 X3 for my kids for their first car. Both just started driving. The X3 has 129k on it Was very well kept. My son and I have already replaced the valve cover gasket and servo actuator gear. I new it needed the valve cover gasket but the gear was a surprise on us but it was a pretty easy fix. The issue at hand is the brake lights. My main question is this; Is the third brake light (light bar on top center) supposed to work under normal braking? I have read mixed reviews on this light. Some say it only works under extreme braking, others say it only works as a back up when the 2 outer brake lights go out. Very confused here. Last night my daughter said the brake light indictor came on on the dash board. My son and I went out to take a look and found that the driver side outer bulb was out and the passenger side inner bulb was out. After replacing the drivers side outer I found that now BOTH inner bulbs were not working. After playing around with it and thinking for a while I realized that the 2 inner bulbs (located on the tailgate) are only back up bulbs for when the outer ones go out. Again, very confusing.

So, after all that the only brake bulbs that come on under normal braking are the 2 outer lights. That's it. IS this correct or is the third brake light bar supposed to work as well.

Any help and info is much appreciated!!

Thanks, Chris

·
Registered
6,326 Posts
post 4 from this FESTCHIVE link

>there have been wiring issues etc ....post 4 is a good start .....also attaching the links for videos/parts and your electronic online owners manual that will be useful

>best wishes

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=758072

>online manual

http://workshop-manuals.com/bmw/

>online how to videos

http://www.bmwusa.com/Standard/Cont...ideoguid=9aeda1e8-a3f0-4619-8b21-adc9b8db0ee5