BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Drove hom my new (to me) 2003 540i Msport/coldweather/premsound/nav last night. Only 12000 miles, very nice titanium silver.

A few questions from a total newbie (so please be kind)

During CPO car got new Dunlap Sport 8000E, 235/40/ZR18 in front, 265/35/ZR18 in back. Are these any good? Is 12K all I can expect in mileage? Drove this car before they replaced the front tires and it was noisy and rough; after the new ones it was like a new car. But it still seems to drive "harder" than other 2003 540i sports I test drove, probably due to different tires. For someone like me that enjoys the sport but isn't racing the car and uses it as my primary vehicle (and will face bumpy roads and the occasional pothole), what would you suggest for a more comfortable ride? (Yes, I know, I bought the sport and I like it , but I'm curious what other brands of tires will do for me)

Also...it was a 3 hour drive home from the dealer and my back hurt when I was done. Any suggestions on how to make the sport seats more friendly? Or am I just being a whiner?

This car is amazingly powerful, I love the fast start off the line and it purrs.

Thanks!

Kakmtwo

·
Registered
38 Posts
kakmtwo said:
Drove hom my new (to me) 2003 540i Msport/coldweather/premsound/nav last night. Only 12000 miles, very nice titanium silver.

A few questions from a total newbie (so please be kind)