BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I'm new to this form but not to BMW's having owned a E32 730, E38 740 & my current drive is a E64 645ci.
The 645 has been off the road for 6 months with the front end up on axel stands. (Due to a leaking power steering radiator failure & work on my house taking priority)
I have finally fitted a new radiator this weekend & have taken the car off the axel stands.
I am however getting a active steering fault & the power steering is very stiff.
I have tried to bleed the system (by turning the wheels lock to lock)
But no joy.
Any ideas?
(It's a model with dynamic drive)
Thanks Jason 20160229_113220.jpeg

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Bimmerfest mobile app

·
Super Moderator
1,881 Posts
Have moved your post as this section is only really for DIY's and you won't get too many views there :thumbup:.

As usual, make sure your battery is tip top first, electrical gremlins will cause all sorts of problems with these especially since your car's been off the road for so long.
I take it you’ve got the fluid level right and haven’t drawn any fluid off while the engine was warm in order to reach the max mark, this will give you a low fluid level as just like ATF it expands a lot when warm.
You may need the BMW software to sort this out and you sound like a hands on kind of owner so if you don’t have it then get it, it’s really cheap now and will help you out no end.