BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

No fuel and no Spark 98 540i Crank sensor?

5914 Views 15 Replies 3 Participants Last post by  neonphire8604
I just finished a motor swap on my 98 540i. I installed a JB race flywheel and I think it broke the crank position sensor. The thing is I cant tell if tone wheel is what broke it or if I broke it unintentionally while trying to remove it to examine it. I am a Honda Technician, not a do it yourself-er and am pretty sure I didn't break it but I know how brittle old plastic can be. Has anyone tried to replace the crank sensor and broke it in the process? Either way its broken so I bought a new one.

Would a broken Crank sensor cause the PCM to not energize the fuel pump relay on one of these cars? If it was a Honda I would say no. Its my first BMW so I simply do not know. The alarm was going off sporadically when trying to crank it, I attributed this to my weak battery but is that wrong? does the alarm module communicate with the immobilizer? no fuel and no spark makes me think of all sorts of horrible immobilizer issues and factory scan tools. This car did sit dead for about 3 years so could I have a module coding issue?

I bought the car with the engine pretty much removed from it so I had to figure out for myself where all the plugs went but that was easy so I doubt I have an issue their.

Yes the fuel pump and fuel pump relay work because I know someone is going to ask me that. Does anyone have any suggestions for me?
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
That's one purpose of the crank sensor, to inhibit the operation of the fuel pump and ignition. It also sends data to the ECU to detect misfires.
so the pcm needs to see a crank signal to energize the relay?
Yep. Make sure that the gap between the flywheel pulse generator and the sensor is 0.55 mm.
is there a shim kit i should get or something?
Yes there is a shim kit. There is also a range the crank sensor needs to be from the flywheel check the online TIS database for the actual gap size.