BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went in for my 15k oil service recently. So I popped the hood and checked the dipstick when I got back. The oil looks kinda brownish. I've never used synthetic before, but with dino juice I remember the oil looking golden like honey. Is synthetic brownish in color or am I being paranoid? Is there any way to check besides draining it? I'm going to get a 36mm wrench and see if they really changed the filter.

·
Registered
590 Posts
SchwartzBlack said:
Went in for my 15k oil service recently. So I popped the hood and checked the dipstick when I got back. The oil looks kinda brownish. I've never used synthetic before, but with dino juice I remember the oil looking golden like honey. Is synthetic brownish in color or am I being paranoid? Is there any way to check besides draining it? I'm going to get a 36mm wrench and see if they really changed the filter.
Sounds like you should be changing your own oil.... It sounds fine.

--gary

G

·
Syn is roughly the color of crappy American beer. But remember that an oil change does not get every drop of old oil out of the engine. That color could be the result of some residual old oil mixed with the new oil.

If you truly are paranoid, check the filter. And investing in the 36mm socket is money well spent as you'll need it when you start changing your own oil.

G

·
Plaz said:

Hello, Department of Redundancy Department. To what party may I direct your call to?

:D
There IS some very good American beer. You just have to look for it. Especially out west, there is a lot of excellent breweries to choose from.

Rogue, Marin, Anderson Valley, and even Sierra Nevada are all truly world-class.

·
I like cookies.
18,102 Posts
TD said:

There IS some very good American beer. You just have to look for it. Especially out west, there is a lot of excellent breweries to choose from.