BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is mike, and I'm new to the bimmerfest forum.

I have a question about my 97 528i.
In the hot days of summer ( 90 degrees or hotter ) when I have my AC on and get stuck in
traffic or at a stop light for two to three minutes, the temp gauge starts to climb. If i turn off the AC, and start to move a little, the temp drops.
I took the car in last year to a BMW dealer and they replaced the water pump. At the time I didn't think it was the problem. And about a week later, sure enough, It started again.
Well, when I took it back in to the dealer, the outside temp was about 80 degrees and of course no problems. Well this year same thing again. I don't want to take it back to the dealer again. I don't trust them.

OK. My questions are, the electric fan should run at high speed when the temp clims? Yes?
Mine dose not, at least not all the time. Some times it does, but today, when it started to over heat, I parked it and check the fan speed. It was running at the slow speed.

What tells the fan to increase speed? Is it the computer, or the temp monitor on the side of the radiator? I think the fan's ok, because it will run at high speed. Just not when I really need it to.

The second question is about the viscosity fan. When does that kick in? At ideal i can grab the fan with no problems. Now I have not revved the motor and grabbed the fan. Dumb but not Stupid. And could this be my problem? A bad clutch fan?

Anyways, I hope someone out their has some info on this problem.
Thanks for you help.
Mike.

·
Registered
363 Posts