BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for some forum best tips and practices on my E90 328XI. I don't drive this car often but I want to keep it in good shape and not let the battery drain fully. I can go a max of 2 weeks not driving it before the battery dies.

Should I disconnect the negative terminal and stop battery drain and will that allow the battery to survive a month?
I can't charge the battery in its current garage spot. Is it worth removing the battery, bringing indoors and leaving it on a tender for 1 month instead?

Main issue is that I don't have a outlet in the exposed condo garage that I use. Any tips would be appreciated! I think my oil and gas have been ok FYI

·
Registered
220 Posts
I'm no expert but I think you should bring the battery inside somewhere you have an outlet and keep it on a battery maintainer such as Battery Tender brand (which is on sale right now at Costco).
Another alternative to consider is, depending upon your weather where you live, placing a solar panel on the roof of your exposed garage and running the output to your battery using some type of solar battery maintainer. I'm not sure how much sunlight you get or what the outpur of these are, but it might be enough to keep the battery charged especially if you disconnect it from the car so it doesn't have the drain from the computers. Disconnection might not be needed. You could do some calculations and/or measure the battery voltage each week or so and see how you are doing. If it stays charged, wait another week and measure again. If it is going down, try disconnecting it and wait another week. And if that doesn't work, then bring it inside.

·
Registered
3,385 Posts