BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
I'm totally new to BMW and am looking for advice on purchasing a 3 series on a budget.
I recently took a friends 318si out drifting on a hardpack/dirt course we made and fell in love with its predictability....even in full counter-lock.

I am currently looking at this one(see picture below) but am not certain even what year it is. The seller says its '95, but the ad says '97. He's asking 4600.00 for it. Is that reasonable?

Also, are these the stock wheels for this model?

Thanks so much for any advice you might share!

·
The Canadian Prick.
12,984 Posts
Hi,
I'm totally new to BMW and am looking for advice on purchasing a 3 series on a budget.
I recently took a friends 318si out drifting on a hardpack/dirt course we made and fell in love with its predictability....even in full counter-lock.

I am currently looking at this one(see picture below) but am not certain even what year it is. The seller says its '95, but the ad says '97. He's asking 4600.00 for it. Is that reasonable?

Also, are these the stock wheels for this model?

Thanks so much for any advice you might share!
The wheels are stock. Style 32s IIRC.

The car could be either 95 or 97. This car has a 'Facelift' grill from a 97, but they could merely be clipped in aftermarket ones, or OEM 97 grilles that have just been painted.

IMO $4600 is way too much for this modded car. (Modded as it has clear corners, instead of stock amber ones). If you look at the front D/S tire, it is bald. This likely means that the car's been abused, or at the least, neglected. It can also mean that the alignment is off.

Either way, for that kind of cash, in the US especially, you can find far better cars.

·
John Firestone
2,913 Posts
It could very well be a 97 MY. BMW NA started ordering the Radial Styling 32 wheels for 96.

A 96+ MY car will have a one touch open sunroof and digital climate controls.

·
Registered